-
Squidgy
pro mongrel &
pro ridgeback
Just a quick one. Just brought 2 packs of the squidgy pro mongrels in what i think to be a natural dark grey/light and white ones too. I have lost both of the rigged ones. 1 out of 4 pretty lame i thought but anyhow will need to get some more replacement hooks/jigheads. They are 95mm. The only thing i can think of is buying the slick rigs and using there jigheads. Any suggestions would be Great! Another method on rigging them would be great. They will be got mangrove jacks.
FW
-
Re: Squidgy
pro mongrel &
pro ridgeback
gday mate,
the slicks rigs wont work in them as they are designed specifcally for the slick rigs ie: to be inserted inside a little pocket in the softie itself. Even though these new squidgys are hollow belly softies i wouldn't be putting slick rigs in them, way to heavy in my opinion. I would be rigging these on a worm hook or a weedless hook with little weight or try the tt snakeheads i think thats what they are called? Rigged this way, chucked right up into snags would be deadly.
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: Squidgy
pro mongrel &
pro ridgeback
As Mick says, weighted worm hooks are the go, probably 3/0 or 4/0 for a 95mm bait. Just be sure you select a heavy duty hook, there are lots of lighter bass hooks on the shelves. I prefer Owner Cutting Points or Daiichi X52 hooks if you can find them (by far the best hook on the market) and simply whack a suitable weight split shot on the hook after it is rigged on the plastic. Lets you vary the weight according to conditions.